Agri-tourism and Wasco County 2040

During the 2017 Wasco County 2040 Visioning roadshow and public outreach, Planning staff and the Citizen Advisory Group asked community members, property owners, and stakeholders for input on amending land use planning regulations to allow for more opportunities for agri-tourism events and activities.

In 2011, Senate Bill 960 allowed counties to adopt new provision, in whole or in part (or not at all) to allow for additional types of activities and events, in conjunction with farm use.  These were categorized as “agri-tourism” uses and designed to be related to and in support of agriculture.

These uses would be added to Wasco County’s Exclusive Farm Use Zones (A-1 (160) and A-1 (40) regulations in the Land Use and Development Ordinance.  They are exclusive to state law, and therefore the National Scenic Area would not be eligible for these additional uses.

Staff has prepared the following white paper to help inform the public on the key issues related to agri-tourism and land use planning: Agritourism whitepaper WC 2040

New Lots in Forest Zones

Several months ago, we published an infographic sharing the results of some analysis from the Planning and GIS departments that depicts possible new lots in farm and forest zones:

NewLotsResourceZones (2)

A few community members requested a similar map be created for possible divisions in the forest zone:Dividable_F1_and_F2

If you are familiar with the Wasco County zoning map, you may notice that a portion of the forest zone has been excluded from this analysis; all properties under federal, state and local ownership were removed from this analysis.

Its important to reiterate that the analysis does not necessarily directly correlate to the total number of potential new dwellings.






Resource Zones in Wasco County

Staff has created a new explainer video to highlight some key facts related to resource zones in Wasco County:

One of the foundations of the Oregon statewide land use planning program is the goal to protect and conserve farm and forest lands for future uses.  Zones relate to the type of land uses permitted/prohibited, and regulations related to zones often set maximum or minimum thresholds for the size of individual parcels, building in relationship to adjacent properties or features (called setbacks), and additional property development standards.

Outside of the National Scenic Area, Wasco County has 22 zones (including zones within Tygh Valley and Wamic rural communities).  Four are resource zones.  This includes our two Exclusive Farm Use (EFU) zones A-1 (160) and A-1 (40) and our two forest zones, F-1 (80) and F-2 (80).  Numbers in parentheses after the zones indicate the minimum number of acres required to create a land division.

Many of the permitted uses in farm and forest zones are determined by state law and required to be adopted into local ordinances.

For questions related to your specific property, please call the Planning Department.

You can also read more about the criteria and permitted uses for each zones by viewing the Land Use and Development Ordinance.

To locate your zone on a map, see our online Geographic Information Systems (GIS) mapping tool.