Previously identified as Environmental Protection Districts (EPD), Wasco County currently has 14 overlay zones that vary in purposes from resource protection, natural hazard mitigation, to unique development zoning. In 2021, staff is proposing to update those overlay zones impacted by any policy or implementation measures identified during Wasco County 2040.

Updates will include any mandatory revisions or recommended edits for clarity.

2021 updates focus on Environmental Protection Districts (EPDs) 4-7, 9-10, and 12 and 14. In addition to revisions directed by policies adopted during Wasco County 2040, staff has also worked to make the format of these sections more consistent and, therefore, easy to read. Click on the summary sheet or drafts to read about specific updates.

These updates were approved November 3, 2021 by the Board of County Commissioners and will go in to effect in the beginning of 2022.

Do you have questions? Ask a Planner
Learn about the Update process.
Send us your comments!