The Dalles/Wasco County Enterprise Zone was re-designated as the Wasco County Joint Enterprise Zone on July 1, 2018. Sponsors of this zone include: Cities of The Dalles, Dufur, Maupin, Mosier, and Wasco County, and the Port of The Dalles.

Wasco County Planning staff worked with partners for over six months to identify appropriate places for industrial and commercial development in unincorporated Wasco County, in keeping with existing zoning and land use patterns.

Enterprise zones are a financial tool that provides property tax abatements to promote business investment and job creation into economically distressed areas. Over the past 30 years, The Dalles has seen consistent use of this tool, resulting in new and expanded businesses, new jobs, and higher wages but there are still needs within the community and County. The new Wasco County Joint Enterprise Zone brings this financial tool to additional areas of Wasco County.

To learn more about the Enterprise Zone please visit the City of The Dalles website: